Stop Procrastinating, Procrastinator!

Sick of being a Procrastinator?

Procrastination is defined in the dictionary as “the action of delaying or postponing something” otherwise known as being lazy. What’s the downside to it? Procrastinating will lead to a number of problems in your everyday life, some examples including: cramming, fatigue, lack of comprehension and poor effort along with decreased productivity. Although there may be many solutions to “beat” your procrastination, I believe the most effect way to overcome this is with time management. Time management is simply giving yourself enough time to complete the task you are assigned. By implementing proper time management, you may see a large improvement in productivity, retention of information, increased grades, and improved study habits.

635927929555219733790045360_Procrastination-Quotes-19

“Time is what we want most, but what we use worst”

Many people may find it challenging when trying to manage their time. The first tip I can offer has been used by many top CEO’s along with college students to not only improve their time management, but their productivity as well. That tip is to break up your work. Everyone knows the feeling of having a pile of assignments handed to them without any knowledge of where they should begin. If you can break up your work into 3-5 separate pieces, you will find it much easier to tackle the assignments and complete them with more consistency. I have found that the most effective way to break up your work is by rewarding yourself at the end of each task you accomplish. For example, a gummy bear reward at the end of each paragraph you read. My classmates agreed with my ideas as Sam said, “I like this idea especially when assigned a long passage to read. Rewarding yourself by doing work is always a good idea”.

uf-time-management-marketing

To Do . . .

Another tip that I have discovered is making a list of the assignments that need to be completed. In fact, lists have been scientifically proven to help reduce anxiety along with increasing your ability to focus. By making a list, students can visualize what tasks they need to achieve. This may also make it easier to prioritize your assignments in the order of importance or due date. Although this tip may seem simple, it is an easy way to overcome your procrastination with little change to your daily routine.

The Demonstration

In my English class I decided to show my fellow classmates how effective these tips may be. I chose to demonstrate the first tip: rewarding yourself after completing a task. I split the class into two separate groups (Group A & Group B). Each were given the same article to read. Group A was asked to read the passage silently with no reward while Group B was awarded a gummy bear per 2 paragraphs read and after the entire assignment was completed. After they both finished the passage I asked them how they felt during the trial. Many of my classmates believed this method would work as Tori stated, “I like this idea because I always lack motivation while trying to read long paragraphs and stories…”. Claire also said, “ I think it is definitely helpful especially since I have a short attention span”. Personally, I find it much easier to complete tasks when I am being rewarded for finishing my work. It gives me motivation to not only complete it thoroughly, but efficiently as well. Overall, I believe that both tips can assist you when trying to overcome procrastination.

 

Leave a Reply

