How to Not Fail an English Paper

One of the best tools I have ever used in high school is Grammarly. Grammarly is an online extension and website that helps correct grammar, spelling and other types of writing errors. I can’t begin to tell you the amount of mistakes that Grammarly has picked up for me, that GoogleDocs or Word didn’t. It has certainly saved me points on essays and other assignments.

And while this tool is great for school work and essays, it’s a really nice thing to have for things like social media posts, or writing emails. Mrs. Goldberg brought up in our discussion that one of her biggest pet peeves is getting an email from a student and seeing a ton of writing mistakes. It shows that the person really didn’t take the time or didn’t care that much about reaching out and making a good impression. Next year in college I know that I’m going to have to write a ton of emails to professors, and the last thing that I want is for them to think that I don’t care. That wouldn’t be a good start.

For me, nothing is more annoying then when I make a good argument on social media that stumps somebody, and then they respond with “it’s there not their!”. And the best way for me or anybody to avoid this now is to have Grammarly installed and have it automatically check for your errors when your posting. But also please don’t be the grammar police on social media!

My classmates had good things to say about Grammarly as well. Not all of them have it or have used it, but the majority of them said that they are definitely going to in college. They agreed that not only is it important for grades and such, but for also making a good impression to your professors.

As you can see from the video I made above, the way that I use Grammarly is by copying and pasting one of my essays into the website. And from there it automatically checks what mistakes I have made, and offers up corrections for them. I love that feature because it helps me remember the mistakes I usually make and stop making them with my future writing.

I hope people start using this, especially my fellow college students because it can only help. As I know from experience many students don’t even read over their essays when they are done writing, so at the very least have this extension that will correct it for you. Enjoy!

 

*Grammarly corrected around 15 mistakes in this blog post.

Leave a Reply

