Audiobooks isn’t cheating

For the longest time I thought that audiobooks were the easy way out of doing school work. Just merely a quicker less effective way to digesting a text. I remember my freshman year I neglected to read a book that I was supposed to be an “expert” on the next day. So instead of trying to read the book I popped my ear buds in and laid out near my pool and turned the reading speed on full go. To my surprise it only took six hours to finish the book and I performed well the next day in class. To make this post my teacher had my class comment on my findings and they gave me feedback on my ideas and their own opinions.

You’re Brain

Daniel Willingham-who attended Duke University undergrad and earned a Ph.D. in Cognitive Psychology from Harvard University and is now currently Professor of Psychology at the University of Virginia-claims your mind does the same thing when reading and listening almost. Your brain has two fundamental processes that contribute to reading, that are called decoding and language processing. Decoding is your brain figuring out words from print. Language processing is the same the mental processes you use for oral language. The thing you don’t do when listening to an audiobook is decoding. A person is typically a fluent decoder by the time they are in high school and decoding ability does not determine level of reading skill by that time in one’s life. Something you get when you listening rather than reading is prosody. Prosody refers to changes in pacing, pitch, and rhythm in speech. That helps determine what someone is saying. An example of this is someone saying ‘I really enjoy your blog’ can either be a sincere compliment or a sarcastic put-down—both look identical on the page, and prosody would communicate the difference in spoken language,”. My classmate Skylar said she understood “this quote because this often happens when texting. People aren’t really sure of the tone you’re using when you type things.”

 

E-books and Disney land

My personal favorite quote that I shared with the class was “Comparing audio books to cheating is like meeting a friend at Disneyland and saying “you took a bus here? I drove myself, you big cheater.” The point is getting to and enjoying the destination. The point is not how you traveled.” This quotes makes it seem simplistic, and it is. Some students in my class even think that audio book are superior to traditional paper texts such as Brian who finds himself  “better engaged when listening to audiobooks, and (he) seems to enjoy them better.” I think that as long as you get where you are going it shouldn’t matter the path.

Is audio books really not cheating

Audiobooks isn’t cheating because “‘Cheating’ implies an unfair advantage, as though you are receiving a benefit while skirting some work. Why talk about reading as though it were work?”. Reading is an enjoyable thing when it is not forced .Audiobooks are just another form of book such as ravioli and tortellini,both are pasta with cheese inside they just look different. My classmate Nick had a great idea “listening to the book while reading along on the text benefited me more than just reading it or just listening to the audio book. I have actually done this before and it was a tremendous help in some ways…. it helped me pronounce words I didn’t know.”

Willingham, Daniel. “Is Listening to an Audio Book “Cheating?”” http://www.danielwillingham.com/. Weebly, 24 July 2016. Web. 1 Dec. 2016.

Leave a Reply

