Good<Great

The Road to Greatness Summed Up:

I recently finished “Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap…and Others Don’t” by Jim Collins.  Collins has been established as one of the most influential management consultants in the world. The bestselling management focused book is regarded as a modern classic of management theory. Collins wanted to identify and evaluate the factors and variables that permit a select amount of companies go from good to great. Collins defines great as a term in accordance “to a number of metrics, including, specifically, financial performance that exceeded the market average by several orders of magnitude over a sustained period of time.” Using all this data Collin and his research team documented the business literature, and identifying a few companies that fulfilled their fixed precedent for greatness. With this data they then determined the characteristics that made these companies so great, so they could individually analyze competitors in different fields of business.

The fascinating results are all included over the course of nine chapters in “Good to Great.” Collins covers a variety of things to make a company go from good to great like management, personnel, and operations practices, behaviors, and attitudes that are conducive and antithetical.

The Greatest Theme:

For every goal within a company, there needs to be continuous focus from all company resources in order for there to be overall success.

Quoting Jim Collins and His Greatness:

Depending on the company the core values will differ. Whether they are innovation, teamwork, or integrity, having some set of shared values in a company is essential.  “Core values are essential for enduring greatness, but it doesn’t seem to matter what those core values are,” (195). Collins argues that by having some set of shared values or ideals in a company are necessary in order to take the leap from a good to a great company. The specifics of what these values are don’t necessarily matter. The important part of having a set of shared ideals is to help people feel like they are part of something bigger than themselves which makes them more productive and better employees in the company.

One of the most important factors in determining whether or not a company will be successful is being able to handle employees properly. “The good-to-great companies made a habit of putting their best people on their best opportunities, not their biggest problems,” (59). Getting the right people to work in the right situations is what can make or break a company. The author points out that by putting the most talented people in a company in places where they have an opportunity to succeed and not just trying to fix problems in a company, but by being able to help the company other ways, the company will be more successful.

The World is Great:

The lessons from Jim Collins within “Good to Great” show that all things in the world to have continuous focus on them from the needed resources. For example, in marriage both husband and wife need to put in all their effort and love to keep the relationship from falling apart. If only one of the spouses is putting in the effort to keep the relationship going, it will eventually end in divorce, no matter how hard the one spouse tries.

This is also true for something like curing hunger in third world countries, like in the African nation. In order to get enough food to the starving villages money, means of transportation, and people are needed. Without all of these resources the fight to end hunger would not exist because there would be no one running it.

Lots of things would fail in the world if all necessary resources were not continuously focused on the situation.  Success is vital for the world and its population.

Great in My Books:

Within my life there has been one main goal that I have had to put all my effort into with lots of help from external forces. Volleyball has been a struggle for me to go from good to great. I recently teared my dominant should in three places, which not only ended my junior year varsity season, but also the potential to play in college. I went to multiple doctors, took multiple x rays and MRIs, before someone could figure out why my shoulder was in so much pain.

At first I was told that was shoulder was just double jointed and it needed to be stabilized, so went through a year of physical therapy prior to  finding out that there were multiple tears in the cartilage. I ended up getting surgery on my shoulder in November of 2015. After surgery I was immobile for about two weeks, so I received daily help and care from all my family members, friends, and teachers.

About a month after surgery I went back to physical therapy and was worked on by not only one, but three different therapists. I went five days a week so I could shorten the recovery time in order to get back on the court for my final club season. Although my goal was to be back as soon as possible, I did not want to rush my shoulder because I knew it would tear again. By waiting and continuing physical therapy for four months post surgery, I was able to come back and finish the last three months of club. But most importantly to me I was able to play my senior varsity season with no pain and to my fullest extent.

This was my ultimate goal: playing a season of volleyball with no pain. By using all of these resources I was able to nurse myself back to being one hundred percent and completely successful in my final seasons as a volleyball player.

Good to Great by Jim Collins:

good-to-great-cover

Citing:

             Collins, Jim C. Good to Great: Why Some Companies Make the Leap … and Others Don’t. New York, NY: HarperBusiness, 2001. Print.           

Leave a Reply

